Massimo Conti | Fine Art Photography: Seascapes

Home / Fine Art Photography / Massimo Conti | Fine Art Photography: Seascapes

See on Scoop.itCINQUETERRE

Massimo Conti‘s insight:

About Cinque Terre


Cinque Terre, "The Five Lands" is composed of five villages: Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore. The coastline, the five villages, and the surrounding hillsides are all part of the Cinque Terre National Park and is a U N E S C O World Heritage Site.

Over the centuries, people have carefully built terraces on the rugged, steep landscape right up to the cliffs that overlook the sea. Part of its charm is the lack of visible corporate development. Paths, trains and boats connect the villages, and cars cannot reach them from the outside.

The Cinque Terre area is a very popular tourist destination however there are also other five villages completely unknown to tourists. These villages are the hidden five lands of La Spezia coast: Persico, Navone, Schiara, Monesteroli and Fossola. At the beginning the villages were wineries and fishing shacks that the people of Biassa and Campiglia used only for a certain period of the year during their arduous daily work on the terraces. Today the houses are used only as second home.





See on